Black Point Beach Association Board of Governors June 27th, 2020 Election Meeting Minutes

call 425-436-6363 and give the following access code (PIN): 436260.

Present: Cheryl Colangelo, Chair

Will Fountain

Cary Michael Johnson Steve Beauchene Rick Diachenko Phil Lombardo

Bill McDowell

Also Present: Jim Moffett, Association Manager
Al Capozza, Treasurer

Absent: Ruth Ames, Tax Collector

The Election Meeting for the Black Point Beach Club Association Board of Governors, was held on Saturday June 27th, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. in the Black Point Beach Club Association Clubhouse located at 6 Sunset Avenue in Niantic, Connecticut, and was simultaneously held via teleconference.

I. Call Meeting to Order & Attendance

Ms. Colangelo called the Election Meeting for the BPBCA Board of Governors to order at 9:01 a.m. and noted the teleconference is being recorded in its entirety and in accordance with the requirements of executive order 7B, issued by Governor Lamont, which allows for public meetings to held over teleconference; both the meeting recording and meeting minutes will be posted to the Black Point Beach Club website, Bog@blackpointbeachclub.com.

II. Nominations for two seats on the Board of Governors

Ms. Colangelo said this meeting is exclusively for the election of 2 new members for the Board of Governors; the terms for Mr. McDowell and Mr. Johnson are up and both have chosen not to run again at this time. She added that Sharon Bruce and Bob Trocki have both expressed interest in filling these positions and their information is posted on the website as well as Facebook. She clarified that people may also vote for someone who hasn't been nominated as well.

Ms. Colangelo opened the floor for nominations to the Board of Governors for two 3 year terms and noted that seconds are not needed for this procedure:

 Rich Coppola of 10 Blue Heron nominated Sharon Bruce and detailed her many qualifications. He directed people to the website and Facebook to see more specifics regarding her bio.

Ms. Bruce said she welcomes the opportunity to serve on the Board of Governors and thanked Mr. Coppola for his nomination.

- Bob Trocki of 22 Blue Heron nominated himself and also directed people to his information on both the website and Facebook page. He said he would represent all of the members of Black Point, that not all voices have been heard. He feels the Board has lacked accountability and transparency and detailed his financial expertise and his concern regarding the Board's fiscal spending.
- Ed Zito of 57 Nehantic nominated Janet Bonelli and noted her experience as a Professional Project Manager Consultant currently with Eversource as well as her desire to become more involved with the community.

Ms. Bonelli introduced herself and noted she is soon to be an empty nester which will provide her with more time to become more involved with the community. She discussed her degree in business administration, her strength in management and her current work with Eversource.

- Carol Ward of 23 Blue Heron said she would also like to nominate Bob Trocki. She noted he has done extensive research regarding Black Point and our Charter.
- Alice Baril of 17 Sea View asked if two names should be written on one ballot.

Ms. Colangelo confirmed that she was correct.

- Colleen Chapin of 53 East Shore Drive reminded people to press *6 on their phone to be recognized.
- Sharon Colberti asked if there was only in person voting.

Ms. Colangelo confirmed that this is correct.

Ms. Colagelo thanked Mr. McDowell for getting the donuts for the membership.

Nominations were closed, there being no other nominations. The membership was instructed to cast their votes at the Clubhouse between 10:00 a.m. thru 12:00 p.m. She encouraged people to stagger their arrival throughout the two hour duration for voting

and told people to enter at the back of the Clubhouse; people will be present to direct members where to go.

Ms. Colangelo gave a big thanks to Jim Moffett and Linda Thompson who arrived at the Clubhouse at 7:00 a.m. to make the environment safe for voting.

The meeting was recessed at 10:00 a.m. to allow for the voting of candidates.

III. Board of Governors Election Results

The Board reconvened at 12:34 p.m. to announce the election results.

The ballots were counted and the results were presented:

- 1. Janet Bonelli- 123 votes; Elected, 1st three-year Term.
- 2. Sharon Bruce- 86 votes; Elected, 1st three-year Term.
- 3. Bob Trocki- 67 votes
- 4. Erik Anderson- 1 write in vote.

IV. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 12:34 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted, Brooke Stevens, Recording Secretary